The Leeds Philosophical
and Literary Society
Registered Charity  224084   Company Registered in England  177204   

Registered Office:  c/o Leeds City Museum, Cookridge Street, Leeds LS2 8BH


FUTURE  EVENTS 

N.B.  The dates and times of some events may have to be changed;  please contact the Hon. Secretary, Dr. John Lydon (0113 3432874 or 0113 2785596) to confirm the details shown below. 

Lectures will be held in the School of Music, University of Leeds at 7.30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated

                                          

 

                                                           

Events programme, 2014

 

 

Thursday 22nd May                             The Vale of York Hoard in its Viking context              Professor Joyce Hill

 

Thursday 19th June                              Tissue engineering                  Professor Eileen Ingham

 

July [date tba]                                     Summer outing – probably to Jodrell Bank

 

Saturday 30th August [to be confirmed]         A natural history road show at the Discovery Centre, jointly with the Museum Service

 

Tuesday 23rd September                      Woodbine Willie: an unsung hero of World War I      Bob Holman

 

Thursday 16th October                                    “An evening with …”  Mike Green:  Berkeley Moynihan – surgeon, soldier, statesman (his contributions

                                                                        to the Great War        

 

Thursday 30th October                                    Pre-Bonfire Night lecture and demonstration, by Mike Hoyland and Matt Smithson

 

Thursday 20th November                    The 2014 Joseph Priestley lecture, jointly with the Leeds Library and the Priestley Society

 

Wednesday 3rd December                   AGM;   and annual dinner: speaker:  Daru Rooke:  Cliffe Castle 1880-1950

                       

 

 

Recent events

 

Thursday 10th April                             John Atkinson Grimshaw event: 

                                                            6.00 p.m.  Plaque unveiling, in St George’s Field, by Mary Ferriss

                                                            6.30 p.m.  Reception and mini-exhibition in the University Art Gallery, jointly with the Art Gallery

                                                            7.30 p.m.  John Atkinson Grimshaw               talk by Eveleigh Bradford, in the University Music Department

 

Thursday 20th March                           Protein folding: nature’s origami                    Professor Sheena Radford

 

Saturday 15th March                           Science Fair, at Leeds City Museum.  11.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m.

 

Thursday 20th February                       Meccano          Jim Gamble

 

Thursday 23rd January                         Putting Harrison in his place:  a lecture on the Harrison clock                      Dr Richard Dunn

 

Wednesday 4th December 2013          AGM and annual dinner;  speaker:  Professor Anthony Ogus:  Operatic experiences: then and now

         

Tuesday 19th November                      The 2013 Joseph Priestley Lecture:  Ben Franklin – Priestley’s American counterpart.   Dr Peter Maw.

                                                           

Thursday 31st October                                    Pre-Bonfire Night lecture and demonstration, by Mike Hoyland and Matt Smithson.

                                                           

Thursday 17th October                                    Military paintings        John Evans

 

Thursday 19th September                    A natural history themed Road Show, organised jointly with Leeds City Museum (at the Discovery Centre)

                                                           

Tuesday 23rd July                                Summer visit – to Rochdale Pioneers Museum and Lyme Park

                                                           

Thursday 20th June                              Life in crystals: the Bragg centenary               Professor Tony North and Dr Arwen Pearson

                                                           

Thursday 16th May                              The physics of music               Professor Peter Main

 

Thursday 18th April                             A talk on the Fountains Abbey Estate, by Michael Ridsdale

 

Saturday 23rd March                           Science Fair, at Leeds City Museum, from 11.00 a.m.

 

Thursday 21st March                           “An evening with … Mark Hearld”  (a York-based artist)

 

Thursday 21st February                                   Through the cooking glass: the wonderland of flavours and aromas             Professor John Bradley

 

Thursday 17th January                         Haiti – heraldry, history and a touch of voodoo         Malcolm Lobley

 

 

 

 

[AIMS][HISTORY][CONSTITUTION][REPORTS][MEMBERSHIP][PUBLICATIONS][GRANTS][CONTACT][EVENTS][MAIN PAGE]